History of the Houston Citywide Women's Uplift Union


                                            The Beginning

   The Houston Citywide Women’s Uplift was organized November 18, 1950 at St. John Baptist Church on Gray Ave. Houston, Texas under the leadership of the late Dr. N. C. Crain. (From left to right) Sister Freda Turner of the Jerusalem M.B.C. was elected as first president, Sister Blanche Hardman of Damascus Baptist Church, 1st Vice President, Sister E. M. Brown of Great Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church, 2nd Vice President, Sister Geneva Thomas, St. John - Dowling, Secretary, Sister Lela Smith, Asst. Secretary, Sister A. B. Maiden, Greater Zion, Treasurer, Sister Bernice Davis, St. John - Gray, Business Manager, Sister Zelma Green, 5th Ward Baptist, Treasurer, Sister Ethel Mosley, St. John - Dowling, Chaplain, Sis Virginia (Jennie) Hurks, Greater Mt. Olive Baptist Church, Publicity.







The affiliations with the Citywide Women’s Uplift were as follows: Jerusalem, St. John on Dowling, St. John on Gray, First Shiloh, Fifth Ward, Damascus, Loyal, Greater Mt. Lebanon, Greater Mt. Olive and Greater Zion.


     These women were an integral part of the Brotherhood Movement. The objective of the Uplift Union is to bring Women up to the standards as set by Jesus Christ and to teach them their place in the Church.


     The Movement placed much emphasis on Christian Education and through the leadership with thousands of dollars that have been spent on securing scholarships to Christian Institutions for preachers and teachers of God’s Word.  


     The leadership of the Citywide Women’s Uplift has been handed down (“The torch is passed … The Work Must Go On)” from its first president Sister Freda Turner of Jerusalem M.B.C. to Sister Virginia (Jennie) Hurks, of Greater Mt. Olive M.B.C. and Sis. Elizabeth Pleasant of St. John MBC on Dowling who served as co-presidents to Sister Bernice Fluellen of Greater Zion Missionary Baptist Church to our present President, Sister Ostella Caldwell of Progressive New Hope Missionary Baptist Church.





       Ostella Caldwell          President

       Lillie Allen                    Vice President

       Myrtice Turner            Vice President

Houston Citywide Prayer Line:

Every Saturday Morning: 5:45 A.M.

Call Toll Free: 712-775-7016

ID#: 716352270.

Our Main Office (Houston):
2420 Cleburne Street
Houston,Texas 77004
Our Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 321231
Houston,Texas 77221
Email: hcbbuwu@gmail.com
Tel: 832-409-1757
Fax: 281-240-7141

© 2019 by L. JOHNSON - Proudly created with Wix.com